Test #2: Stretch and SMART Goals increase sense of fulfillment and productivity

Test Card

Title
Using Stretch and SMART goals to increase sense of fulfillment and productivity

Due Date / Duration
July 21, 2016 / 1 week

Step 1 – Hypothesis – Critical: 1
I believe that using Stretch and SMART goals every day will increase my sense of fulfillment and productivity.

My stretch goals are

  1. Personal life purpose
  2. Strategic objective of my businesses

Step 2 – Test – Cost: 1 – Reliability: 1 
To verify, I will

  1. printout my personal life purpose and strategic objective of my businesses
  2. review my stretch goals every morning
  3. choose some activity that match my stretch goals
  4. create SMART goals for that activity in that day

Step 3 – Metric – Time Required: 1
And measure

  1. Doing the review of stretch goals and planning for SMART goals, value 1: No, 2: Half, 3: Yes
  2. Sense of fulfillment for that day, value 1: No, 2: Yes, 3: Very
  3. Task completed on that day, value: 1: No, 2: yes, 3: Faster
1  2 3 4 5 6 7
Do Review  2 2 3 3 2 2 2
Sense of Fulfillment 1 2 3 3 3 3 3
Task Completed 1 1 1 1 1 1 1

Notes:

  1. Day 5: it difficult to create SMART goals and complete them in that day

Step 4 – Criteria
I am right if at the end of the test

  1. Sense of fulfillment average > 1.5
  2. Task completion average >1.5

Learning Card

Step 1 – Hypothesis 
I believe that ==Same with above==

Step 2 – Observation – Reliability: 1
I observed in 1 week

  1. Doing review and planning average is 2.29, which most of the time I only do reviewing Stretch goal and identifying what I really need to do to achieve them.
  2. Sense of fulfillment average is 2.4, above the 1.5 criteria, which means this confirm that reviewing and identifying what to do can increase sense of fulfillment
  3. Task completed average is 1, which means this doesn’t affect productivity

Step 3 – Learnings and Insights – Action Required: 1
From that I learned that

  1. The hypothesis are half proved that by reviewing stretch goals and identifying activities to achieve them every morning can increase sense of fulfillment but not with the SMART goals and productivity increase.
  2. To create SMART goals for today activities are hard,
    1. it require more focus, time and effort to create and the tasks cannot be completed within one day, especially if the task are broad and have many unknown factor.
    2. or I need to find a suitable format for short SMART goals that compatible for daily task
  3. Productivity or task completion are low probably due to lack of SMART goal

Step 4 – Decision and Actions
Therefore, I will

  1. Test for creating SMART goals will increase productivity / task completion rate
Leave a Reply

